IITDU Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Artificial Intelligence: A Teaser Trailer

5 posters

Go down

Artificial Intelligence: A Teaser Trailer Empty Artificial Intelligence: A Teaser Trailer

Post by Kabir-IIT Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:01 am

Dear 1st batch,

Let me start by saying that I'm very excited to have the opportunity to take your Artificial Intelligence (AI) class next semester. AI is arguably the most challenging and definitely the most interesting subject in Computer Science and Information Technology. And although I can't claim that I'm any good at it, it is my premier field of interest for future doctoral research. And to be able to teach AI to the best bunch of students I've had in my career is truly something to look forward to.

I've been studying and planning for this course for a couple of months, trying to make sure I get all the areas covered while keeping in mind your busy study schedules for other courses. Its not a very easy task, AI is a huge field (when I say huge, I mean HUGE) with lots of subfields, along with topics that overlap with other subjects (Philosophy, Biology, Cognitive Science, Linguistics to name a few, not to mention our old friends Math and Stat). But by trimming down the cumbersome and less necessary parts, hopefully I can come up with a feasible syllabus. To use a food analogy, we want to have a tasty dish with all the nutrients but with low fat and carbohydrate Very Happy